Interior Design Examining Board  





                State Of Iowa Seal


Governor appoints members to the first Iowa Interior Design Examining Board 

Governor Tom Vilsack and Lt. Governor Sally Pederson made appointments to the first Iowa Interior Design Examining Board.  SF405 created the Board within the Professional Licensing and Regulation Division of the Department of Commerce.

The Interior Design Examining Board is charged with establishing requirements for the examination, education, and practical training of applicants to receive a designation of "Registered Interior Designer."  The Board will also be responsible for establishing fees for registration, as well as renewal and reinstatement of registration, and other activates of the board pertaining to its duties.

The Board is composed of seven members, five of which are interior designers who are registered under this chapter, and who have been in the active practice of interior design for at least five years, the last two of which shall have been in Iowa; and two members who represent the general public.

Appointees will serve staggered terms up to three years and are subject to confirmation by the Iowa Senate.  The Governor and Lt. Governor appointed the following members:

Interior Designers

  • Kathleen Flack of Waterloo, Interior Designer for Flack Interior Design Associates, Inc.
  • Michele Rosenboom of Orange City, Interior Designer with CMBA Architects
  • Kathy Stavneak of Des Moines, Interior Designer and Owner of KSI Interiors
  • Jennifer Voorhees of West Des Moines, Project Manager and Interior Designer for Wells Fargo Home Mortgage
  • Dr. Fred Malven, PhD of Nevada, Iowa State University Professor of Interior Design in the College of Design

Public Members

  • Jason Alread of Des Moines, Licensed Architect and Assistant Professor of Architecture at Iowa State University 
  • Dave Kenworthy of West Des Moines, President of Storey Kenworthy

The above article is reprinted from the Iowa Professional Licensing Division Newsletter April/June 2006. 

Return To Design Awards Page